The Worldwide Leader in Weird ~ News – Politics – Weird News – Crime – Scandals – Celebrities – Video

Blog Shutdowns: Spam Attack from IPs Assigned to barackobama.com



Your Ad Here

Spam Attack came from barackobama.com

Were There More?

Obama hackers
Click on image to enlarge.

At least one of the attacks in the latest wave of blog shutdowns this past week came from IPs assigned to barackobama.com.

UPDATE at end of story.
UPDATE #1 – 7:30 EDT August 4, 2008

We have reported twice in the last two weeks about the attacks on anti-Obama websites. ["Google, Blogger, Obama: Obamanation Shut Down My Blog!"]] & [BabbaZee's "Anti-Obama Blogs Shut Down by Google, Obamabots"]

Speculation on who was behind the attacks has ranged from “Obama supporters” to “it’s no one, just a glitch” “to “it’s a browser problem”. [Site Meter causing Internet Explorer failure ]. This latter is a completely different issue from the blogs that got shut down by Google/Blogger.

A few liberal blogs and Instapundit have said there is no connection between this latest wave of blog shutdowns and the Obama camp.

Speculation can now be set aside–at least, in one instance.

We came across this post by MacRanger at MacsMind [Macsmind Hacking UPDATE] yesterday, where Mac presents “one fact that can’t be explained away”.

On July 22-25 Macsmind was DOS’d (Denial of Service) that originated from three IP addresses that are assigned to Barack Obama’s website. This isn’t a theory but was confirmed via law enforcement through an inspection of the site logs from those dates. The IP address in question; 66.39.4.254 66.39.143.229 216.146.206.181, are all registered via “Go Daddy” under the name barackobama.com.

On those dates, beginning at At 5:48PM Central on the 22nd, the hosted server that contained our site was hit by a 1.6 gigabyte flood of illegitimate traffic. The attacks never abated and only stopped when our host provider took us off line.

Spam traffic originating from three IPs assigned to the barackobama.com would seem to be compelling evidence to the disinterested reader. We haven’t been able to reach MacRanger yet, but the real question isn’t “Is the Obama camp involved in this?”

It’s “Will this story be publicized?”

MacsMind finishes with

Speculation is one thing, but facts are another. This time however we’ve taken protective measures to prevent this from happening again. Additionally the investigation will continue and appropriate interstate authorities have been notified.

Texas Hill Country [] makes the comment, “Translation: People using computers at the Barack Obama Campaign are using them to systematically hack, attack and shut down websites that don’t agree with him. This is so messed up. It’s some Orewellian type business and it’s stuff like this that makes Obama scary as hell…”

As DBKP’s Blogger site was locked down Thursday night by Blogger for being a spam site, we can attest that it was not a problem with our browser that prevented us from posting there for approximately 36 hours.

It wasn’t a browser problem that caused the following message to appear when trying to post at our DBKP Blogger site.

Site Meter didn’t post the two messages and lock down our blogs.

One question: “Did the spam messages that shut down DBKP@Blogger originate from the same IPs that shut down MacsMind?”

A second question: “Will Blogger and Google check?”

A final question: “If Google finds the attacks came from the IPs at barrackobama.com, will they let anyone know?”

We’re not holding our breaths for answers to the last two.

At least one attack came from barackobama.com. Were there more?

We’ll be updating as more information becomes available.

UPDATE – 0730 EDT August 4 2008

We still have not heard back from MacRanger on the incident cited above. We’ll continue throughout the day to contact the author of MacsMind on his DOS experiences.

by Mondoreb
image: sandia; DBKP

Bookmark and Share:
Sphere: Related Content


Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , ,

DBKP - The Worldwide Leader in Weird

↑ Grab this Headline Animator for your webpage OR
Click the banner to grab DBKP's News Feed for Yourself!

Comments

  • 30yrdem-not any more said:

    This is the same thing that happened to me and several others back in June…You should remove your Bar at the top if you want to stay on Blogger. We all moved to Word Press.

    Here is a link to find out how to remove your navigation bar.

    http://dx-xel.net/2007/06/blogger-hide-top-navigation-bar.html

    Reply

  • Devil's Advocate said:

    My blog was marked as a spam blog at the same time you reported.

    http://copiousdissent.blogspot.com

    Reply

  • bill said:

    Keep in mind that the actual Obama website is http://www.barackobama.com. There is a different website with a similar name, http://www.barack.obama.com, which is some sort of oriental site. Can’t read the ideographs, so don’t know which country for sure.

    Reply

  • Humbled Infidel said:
  • cb said:

    My blogspot site (DCProtestWarrior) was shutdown within minutes of a friends blog (BostonMaggie) being shut down.
    The weird part is, I also blog with a team at United Conservatives, (also blogspot) and that blog wasn’t hit.

    Reply

  • admin (Author) said:

    bill,

    Good point; it had me reaching for my mouse to see if, perhaps, an error had been made.

    But, as was posted several other places, one of the IPs info was barackobama (without the “dot” between barack and obama.

    Seems like there’s might still be need for some ’splaning.

    Thanks for the making the point.

    Reply

  • admin (Author) said:

    30yrdem-not any more,

    Thanks a million!

    The bar is now gone, thanks to your posting of that helpful link.

    Thanks again.

    Reply

  • Awa said:

    disgraceful

    Reply

  • Barr08 said:

    I followed this DOS from another site to here. I was just at the original poster. No matter who you support, you are allowing yourself to be used. The guy that created this story is blowing smoke right up your ass. The biggest clue is him claiming that law enforcement found the IP registered to obama and then TOLD him. Right. Like that happens.

    Have any of you ever done a mass mailing? A DOS attack? Administered a network?

    No casual user is going to be able to initiate and maintain a DOS attack from within the server. The system demand would make all of the sys admin’s pagers meltdown. THey’d be on it and killed it before 1000’s an d 1000’s of emails were sent.

    If someone had the chops to hack the security, install an app or script to DOS someone, hide the CPU & memory usage, they’d also be able to hide the originating IP’s. Not gonna happen, OK?

    If they did if remotely by just using the mailserver, (which is how spamming is done, most of the time – just hi jack an insecure mailserver, not as easy as it used to be), what I have to ask is WHY? Why would an Obama supporter initiate a DOS and let it get tracked back to Obama, what’s the benefit?

    This story, if true, is the work of an anti-Obama fan. Palin, um McCain.. I mean plain and simple.

    Rove and the neo-cons are no friends of any freedom loving American. THEY are modern day Nazis. Supporting McCain is supporting them. You folks do need to wake up to this. I’d bet THAT’S where the DOS came from, a ROVE operative. McCain’s campaign is being run by a Rove protege. WAKE up, please.

    Reply

  • Invononib said:

    Hi,
    I am a 22 years old lady, in love wth life, so I have many passions: going out with my friends,practice some sports (tennis), go our in the evening to a club, so all the things that girls like me do always. I also have a true love for marijuana seeds . It’ a recent passion but very strong.I love to stay at my place and burn it a lot. I think that one day we will smoke all together. What do you think about it?
    Kisses,
    Shana

    Reply

  • ZAPEM said:

    The “Natural Born Citizen” blog owned by lawyer Leo C. Donofrio, who was suing the NJ Secretary of State for non-verification of the eligibility of Obama, McCain and Calero in the 2008 Elections was first blogged at BLOGTEXT.org. The blog chronicled the events up to the current date in the United States Supreme Court. The blog became unloadable for weeks. A short time afterward, the entire domain vanished from the internet.

    Mr. Donofrio moved the blog to BLOGGER. Within weeks that blog was met with a warning that indicated the blog was under investigation for a possible “terms of service” violation. The feed to the blog became inoperable due to the sanction.

    ZAPEM set up a mirror site (http://grou.ps/zapem) for the two corrupted blogs while Mr. Donofrio created yet a third blog at http://naturalborncitizen.wordpress.com.

    We have an article on this situation that was written at the time of the incident: http://grou.ps/zapem/wiki/23403

    Several other incidents occurred during this lawsuit, including a completely skewed media story by MSNBC’s Pete Williams. This video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ftlJVFBNyfo) chronicles not only the misinformation contained in the report, but several testimonies by people who couldn’t seem to post any truthful facts to the article in question when attempting to use MSNBC’s public comment feature. All comments were 100% derrogatory towards Mr. Donofrio and other lawyers who had similar suits in the Supreme Court of the United States.

    I would be interested in hearing from anyone who had confirmable experiences with regard to this subject. You can contact me at http://grou.ps/zapem. Sign up for the forums and send me a message there and I’ll follow up with you. Please don’t put your email here for obvious security reasons.

    Thanks!

    Reply

  • sandrar said:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Reply

Trackbacks



Recent Archives
DBKP Links